top of page
jd-7.jpg
Search
  • Writer's picturelestershannon

Dorothy's Drag Delivery Review

Updated: Jun 10, 2020

It’s been a while since I’ve done a MSRBL FGT food review (two years in fact) so I thought I’d give it a go even though I am in lockdown and haven’t eaten out in what seems like AGES. This evening I ordered delivery. And not just any delivery. Pizza delivery. And not just any pizza delivery. Gay bar drag queen pizza delivery. And not just any gay bar drag queen pizza delivery. Very delightful, thin crust delicious pizza and gorgeous slow cooked beef ribs delivered by the most beautiful drag queen in Kelowna, Ella Lamoureux in fact.



When Friends of Dorothy’s Lounge (Kelowna's first official gay bar) announced they’d be doing food deliveries brought to our doors by drag queens I was very skeptical. It seemed a little risky during these troubling times to be indulging in something so decadent and frivolous. Do I really need pizza and wine delivered to my door by a local drag queen? Not at all. Also, are these queens getting paid the same wage that they would for performing a normal gig? It’s a lot of work to get into drag so my first instinct was to ask: How much you getting paid girls? I certainly hope they’re getting a lot more than your average food delivery drivers. No offence to drivers but try driving around in full makeup, wigs, corsets and heels and see if you agree with me. Anyways, we’ll just assume that these bitches are getting paid well because I have no idea. They refused to tell me. I do know that Dorothy's pays its girls well because I worked there myself for the first few months of the year until lockdown.

Anyways, Ella Lamoureux is a good friend of mine and I was missing her today so I was delighted to discover that she opted to be the delivery driver tonight. She hasn’t been one of the main delivery girls yet cuz bitch already has a full-time job managing the cosmetics counter at Shoppers which has now been deemed a necessary position (because obviously Shoppers Drug Mart duh). I immediately ordered before they even opened and was happy to find out it was very easy process through their website.

Their pizzas are named, in a rather gay cliche kind of fashion, after famous Rupauls drag race queens (yawn). I was not overly impressed by this detail but it did add a little extra element of fun to perusing the menu and choosing my pizza for tonight. I chose the Bianca Del Rio which I had never had before and their delicious $10 slow cooked beef ribs. I got a call from them as soon as they opened and my dinner was swiftly delivered with a smile. I joked around with them on the phone about Ella's 'services' too which was quite fun. She pulled up looking fab (surprisingly actually wearing heels) and after throwing a loonie and some rotten celery at her as a tip (true story) I went inside and sent a proper e-transfer tip and sat down to my meal with my roommate Gigi.

The menu boasted some very fine ingredients and I remember seeing that their pizzas were very thin crust so I was excited to give them a go. The ‘Bianca Del Rio’ has sopressata, Genoa salami, prosciutto, shishito peppers, spicy tomato, and mozzarella. It was delicious despite being a little greasy with all the Italian meats and it was literally so thin that the pizza fell apart with every bite. That being said it was most definitely delightful and I would rate it as excellent if you are craving something a little ‘extra’. I had the slow-cooked beef ribs before as well and they are big and meaty. They give you two for $10 and boy are they a delicious mouthful! Unfortunately the delicate flavour of the meat was a little overtaken by the intensity of the chimmichurri sauce. It was definitely a flavourful sauce but they were a little too generous with it I would say. Perhaps it would have been a tad tastier if they served it as a dipping sauce on the side or were a little less liberal with it. Thank you for the generosity but no thank you.



Regardless of these very small details I was very pleased with my delicious high end meal delivered right to my door by a beautiful local celebrity. Is this job beneath her? Maybe... Maybe not. But I am definitely grateful. Is it a necessary risk during a time where everyone is being told to strictly isolate themselves? That question is personal. I personally am not a fan of all the people online shaming others for choosing not to be 100% strict when it comes to social distancing. I choose to believe that most of us are doing our best and if we break the rules to go for a walk with a good friend or family member who is very low risk with no symptoms then I think that is perfectly socially acceptable. That's just my opinion though and I know there are those who would vehemently disagree with me right now.


Nonetheless, if you are feeling decadent enough during a time of enforced social conservancy to order delivery I would definitely recommend a Dorothy's drag food delivery. It does help out a local business that supports local drag queens, many of whom are out of work right now and it does help us keep our sense of community as an inclusive lgbtq+ town alive and well. Thank you Ella and Dorothy’s for the lovely food and lovely night! Will I order again? Probably not anytime soon but I do applaud Dorothy's in attempting to help elevate the food culture in Kelowna and offer something unique and original. Kudos to the queens for getting themselves out there too. Who knows? As long as the owner doesn't read this review, Sasha (my drag alter-ego) might be delivering to your door sometime soon too! xx

104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page