top of page
jd-7.jpg
Search
  • Writer's picturelestershannon

Tasty Tostadas & Tequila Mojitos!

by the Msrbl Fgt


When my dear friend Leesa recommended I check out Cantina Del Centro's new Kelowna location on Bernard I knew it had to be good. #1 she is a foodie who's palate I trust. #2 she lived in Mexico for much of her formative years so if Leesa says the Mexican food is good, then its good. And of course she was right.


I was sat at the bar and greeted by the very friendly bar manager, Dustin. And after perusing the rather large online cocktail menu I decided to start with a tequila mojito. I was a little annoyed with the $13-$15 price tag which seems to be the new Kelowna standard for cocktails but it was a delicious mojito with fresh mint and fresh lime (the only way to have a mojito). It was delightful. They have a huge cocktail menu which I look forward to going back and trying in the near future.


The food menu was also very interesting. The chicken mole negro popped out at me because I adore mole but I chose to give the tuna and prawn tostadas a go. I was not disappointed. Tiny little shrimps and delectable rare tuna with avocado, tangy pink pickled onion, lettuce, tossed in a tomato lime vinaigrette piled high on a crispy corn tortilla and topped with cilantro and sour cream. It was piled so high in fact that you had to eat it with a knife and fork. I discovered if you quarter the tortilla it works just fine to scoop up all the delicious ingredients as well.



I chatted with the bartender and he informed me that the original Cantina is in Nelson. I definitely like supporting BC-owned business so this was good news. I asked him how Fernando's (one of Kelowna's favorite Mexican bars/music venues), which is just a few shops down, is dealing with the competition. He said they were in a totally different category. Which is fair enough. I suppose Cantina offers a slightly more elevated experience, although I will always go back to Fernando's for their live music and avocado margaritas. Cantina's decor is also a little brighter and simpler than Fernando's. I would describe it as comfortable.


I will certainly be heading back in the near future to try more delicious cocktails and delectable food. The other people seated at the bar seemed to be trying some really interesting concoctions. The only deterrent for me would be the slightly pricey menu items (as is the standard for downtown Kelowna these days unfortunately). I suppose at Cantina Del Centro you are paying that little bit extra for the atmosphere, the excellent food and drink and the super-friendly customer service. I think I found a new watering hole.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page