top of page
jd-7.jpg
Search
  • Writer's picturelestershannon

Super Delicious Super Food

KB&Co Skip the Dishes Food Review : 9/10


Today I decided to try something a little bit different. Seeing that restaurants are not open and I wanted to continue my food blog I decided to start rating my home delivery food experiences instead. Today just happened to be a Skip the Dishes kinda day for me but I do encourage everyone (myself included) to order directly from local restaurants that do deliver as it saves them some money (and usually you too). Today I ordered from a seemingly new place that leaned heavily to the vegan side called KB & Co. It’s interesting because its not far from my house but I haven’t been there before. After researching their website it looks like this is their motto: "We understand what most people think of when it comes to plant-based nutrition however we believe that plant-based nutrition doesn’t have to mean boring and for us, it’s really just the adventure. We are passionate about tossing together tasty, wholesome and nutritious ingredients that tastes delicious in ways you’d never think of." I'll be the judge of that.


As I perused the menu I was pleasantly surprised to see plant-based, health-packed options such as the superfood salad and a bunch of different quinoas, lentil, green curry (my fav) and other interesting options like some tasty sounding wraps. The only thing in the ‘meat’ category I could find was tuna which I thought was a bit strange seeing that the rest of the menu seemed entirely vegan. Maybe it was ‘sustainable' tuna? (Oxymoron- has anyone seen Seaspiracy lately?)


I wanted to try a couple things from the menu for a late lunch so I decided to give the chilli nachos a go and the ‘Sweet Superfood’ salad which sounded amazingly healthy and delicious. The pricing was not terrible. Two dishes came to around $34 CAD total which is pretty standard for a Skip delivery. Turns out it was plenty of food. The salad was delightful with a surprisingly large amount of quinoas at the bottom and a delicious house made dressing which they apparently sell bottled as well. It included mixed greens, microgreens, beets, avocado, apple, strawberries, red onion, red pepper, cranberries, pumpkin seeds, hemp seeds, maca protein crumble, and strawberry balsamic mint dressing. The salad was so big in fact I decided to save half for later and enjoy some of their vegan nachos as well.


At first glance to my greedy eyes the chip portion seemed a bit small and I was quite surprised to find out that the exotic vegan chilli nacho dipping sauce was actually just 100% a veggie chilli with some chipotle cashew cream. Don’t get me wrong, the cream was absolutely delicious and it was a great chilli in general, on par with one I would make at home. Almost identical actually- so much so that I forgot I was eating takeout for a moment and got lost in the moment of eating healthy homemade comfort food.


When I order out this is not the experience I am looking for however. The salad surprised and titillated me and it had so many ingredients that it would be quite a pain for me to make at home by myself. It nearly brought me back to that restaurant fine dining experience that I miss so much. A+ to the salad; delicious, inspiring, filling, full of health. The chilli nachos also get an A but because they were so similar to something I make at home regularly.


Overall experience = excellent. What I ordered for a healthy late lunch turned out to be enough food for lunch and dinner and not only was it delicious it was plainly very healthful. 9/10 = I would order again.


Yours Truly,


The Msrbl Fgt


xoxo


2021

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page